Dogs Point of View

“Sniff, sniff, sniff, sniff. Wait! What was that?  Something way in the distance and out of my sight moved.  Can’t you see it?  It was right over there!  Look!  Oh, well.  Sniff, sniff, sniff, and sniff.  Hold on a minute.  This tree smells good!  I want to smell as much of it as I can.  Aahh isn’t that so pleasing.  Ok, I’m coming!  Sniff, sniff, sniff, wait a minute.  This smells like a good spot.  I think someone has been here already but I’m staking my claim anyway.   Aaaaahhhh!  That’s much better.  I am now the owner of this place.  I am so happy that I am kicking up my rear paws to celebrate.  Ok, let’s go explore some more land.  Sniff, sniff, sniff, sniff, sniff and sniff.  There it went again!  We must be getting closer!  Look! Up there, somewhere, I know I saw it!  Just let me go and I’ll find it!  Ok, if you won’t let me go I’ll just have to pull you over there!  Pulling harder.  Harder. HARDER!  Oh, come on!!   What was that you said?  Pull harder?  OK!  Pulling with all my might now!  AAAAGGGHHH!!!   I’m going to pull your arms off!!  Woops!  What just happened?  How did you do that?  I was pulling you out of your shoes and yet you still made me turn around?  Ok, I get it.  Sniff, sniff, sniff, there’s something under this bush.  I’ll bet I can find it.  Nope!  It wasn’t there after all.  But I’m still going to claim this land as my own.  Just let me get in position here.  Is anybody watching?  Oh no!  There’s a lady way over there.   Maybe I can finish this masterpiece before she sees me.  Grunt.  Straining hard now.   Finally!  It’s mine!  This land belongs to me!!  I will kick up my rear paws to celebrate.  That’s right, lady.  This land is all mine now.   Jogging now.  Still jogging.  How long is this going to go on?  I’ve got to get control of this situation.  Oh, thank God!  There’s another tree.  I’ll pull him over there.  Sniffing, sniffing, and sniffing.  Appearing to be fascinated by this dumb tree so that I can catch my breath.   There, that’s much better.  Oh, hey!  Did you see these rocks?  These are so cool.  Maybe there’s something under them.  Sniff, sniff.  Oh!  I know what it is about these rocks.  They need to smell like me!   Fixing that right now.  Aaahhh.  There! Now I also own all these rocks!  What?  I can’t seem to kick up my rear paws here.  I know.  I’ll come over to this little bit of grass and kick them up there.  Jogging again?  Jog, jog, and jog.  What’s wrong with this guy?  Hey!  I’ve seen all this before.  This is all my land!  Seeing this makes me smile.   Hey, isn’t this about where we started this expedition?  Cool!  Hold on a second.  I want to erect a monument here to commemorate the end of the journey.  There.  Now we can go back inside and rest.”


Leave a Reply

